top of page

Three Dark Crowns - Book Review


I died. 

This year has been one of near-death moments for me. First Cassandra Clare throws Lord Of Shadows and I barely manage to duck that when Empire of Storms hits me on my head and turns me into a devout Aelin worshipper. And after surviving all that Kendare Blake has the audacity to punch me so hard that I was left breathless for an entire second while my brain ran at 100000 kmph to catch up with that ending. Like, WHAT JUST HAPPENED?

WHAT IS THE MEANING OF THIS?

HOW AM I GOING TO SURVIVE TILL I GET ONE DARK THRONE?

Exploding thoughts caused by that cliff hanger ending aside (I'm so close to falling off), Three Dark Thrones by Kendare Blake is a refreshing book. I was starting to feel rather bored with the fantasy genre when this book reminded me why I fell in love with it in the first place. I am going to start including the summary from this review onward, if in case you don't know which book I am talking about.

When kingdom come, there will be one. In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who is rumored to have the ability to ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of winning or losing…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins. The last queen standing gets the crown.

The characters are rather wonderfully crafted, each unique in their own ways. The story began rather slowly and even when I was halfway into the book, I wasn't particularly hooked. But it soon picked up its pace. I forgive the lack of action in the first half, since it is only the first book of the series.

And then there is the entire plot. It's just really different from most books that I have read and the writing style is also pretty good.

To keep this spoiler free, I will stop here.

Fangirl Rating: 5/5

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

FANGIRLREVIEWS

bottom of page