top of page

Bookish Year in Review

Heyyy! So 2017 is drawing to a close, and I decided to do a little list of all the little gems I discovered this year.

Hunted - Meagan Spooner

I was randomly scrolling through Amazon one fine summer day, when I happened to see this book. And I may or may not have bought it merely by glancing at the pretty cover.

ALSO it is a Beauty and the Beast retelling so well, what's not to love?

And I am honestly so pleased with that decision. It was such a lovely book. Honestly, it's so hard to find magical fantasy singles these days! Every time you think of buying a fantasy book, it ends up being a 500 book series, and the next one comes out in 3017!

So I was rather delighted to finally read a single that had the right elements of fantasy, magic and romance. Plus, I have always had a thing for fairytales!

Fangirl Rating: 4.5/5

Throne of Glass (series) - Sarah J. Maas

Now this was no accident. I had heard about this series for quite a long time, and I finally got around to buying it this year. I devoured the entire collection this summer and had to wait patiently, ie. without murdering anyone or going absolutely nuts, for Tower of Dawn. Which, thank the stars, I did.

Best. Series. Ever.

I may or may not have mentioned earlier as to how much I adore this series, and CELAENA SARDOTHIEN IS EVERYTHING I ASPIRE TO BE!!!!

Fangirl Rating: 5/5

Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda - Becky Albertalli

As much as I love fantasy novels, I do enjoy contemporary books, especially YA.

This book was such a sweet, heartwarming read and I most probably will reread this again, as I wait for Love, Simon. (P.S. It is the movie adaptation of the book, and it comes out next March).

Would I recommend it? Yes. In fact I think I would beg people to read it, just so that I can talk to them about it.

Fangirl Rating: 4.5/5

Three Dark Crowns (series) - Kendare Blake

I did not know it was a series. Yeah, it did suck when I finished this book, and was hanging on a cliff and found out that I need to read three more books till we find who is the Queen Crowned. It was a rather painful revelation.

Fortunately, One Dark Throne is out as well, so I was able to satiate my curiosity for a while, and then I finished that and now I don't know what is life.

P.S. The third book is expected to be published in 2018. Neither cover nor title has been revealed yet.

And that's all. I read 50 books this year (which had been my preset target for 2017), and there were many more amazing stories, but these four, I think were my absolute favourites.

So Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy New Year and Happy whatever-else-I-missed.

Until next time!

Fangirl's signing off!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

FANGIRLREVIEWS

bottom of page