top of page

How I started reading!

Everyone has that one book or series that got you into the world of books and made you swear an oath at the stroke of midnight, wearing your awesome ink black cape, to never ever leave this world, and to recruit as many mortals as possible. Well, for me, that was Chronicles of Narnia.

I was around 4 years old, when I found myself inexplicably curious about paper. And the weird thing called writing on it. Everyone around me were perfectly capable of looking at a sheet of paper and understanding things. It was like magic!

So, when I heard that attending school, would enable me to do the same, I was overjoyed. And school taught me how to read. And I’m not sure why I’m still going there after that, but that’s beside the point.

The point is, school taught me how to read but it was C.S. Lewis who introduced me to the joy of reading. To that feeling, of being completely drawn into a whole new world.

This particular event happened when I was in 4th grade, and received a copy of ‘The Chronicles of Narnia’ from my mother. And till date, it’s the best gift anyone has ever given me.

Chronicles of Narnia is a series of seven books, where some kids find a magical portal to another universe, wherein exists the utopia of my childhood, Narnia.

It starts quite drearily in the first book, The Magician’s Nephew, that it took me quite some time to really get started with the book. But soon enough, I found myself racing through The lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, The Horse and His Boy, Prince Caspian, The Voyage of The Dawn Treader, The Silver Chair and finally, The Last Battle. It had the most beautiful ending and though I was very sad to leave the world of Narnia, I couldn’t have hoped for a better ending to do so.

As a 9 year old girl, opening a wardrobe and finding yourself in a winter wonderland, despite the fact that there was no Christmas, was somehow a very wonderful thing.

Add talking animals, singing trees and Aslan, and I was hooked.

And thus began my story.

*mic drop*

I am all for dramatic cut-offs, but there is one thing I'd like to know from all of you. What was your first major book? And, when did you discover it? Comment below!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

FANGIRLREVIEWS

bottom of page