top of page

All The Bright Places - Book Review


Gosh this book... where do I even begin? This was one hell of an emotional roller-coaster, to say the least.

Jennifer Niven has done such a wonderful job with this book, and it was heartbreaking to know that it was slightly autobiographic and based on a boy who she loved and who died.

Her realistic portrayal of mental health issues and suicide along with her beautifully crafted characters tell a riveting tale of love and loss. The story is basically about a girl who learns to live from a boy who wants to die. And yes, Theodore Finch does teach us how to live. How to find the magic in the ordinary and how to make our days count. And for that, I am eternally grateful.

My friend recommended this book to me and said "I hate this book, but I don't regret reading it", and that essentially sums up what I felt about it as soon as I was done. After all, the bookworm life is just a fancy title for torture at the hands of evil authors, and if Jennifer Niven drinks readers' tears for breakfast then she had hearty meal today, all thanks to me.

It is a witty and charming book, that may or may not rip your heart to shreds. Yet, I implore you to read it. Books like these need to be read.

Fangirl Rating: 5/5

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

FANGIRLREVIEWS

bottom of page